The Weekly Scoop for the Week of 3/30--4/3
  • We began week 2 of remote learning on Monday. Almost all families have been able to log onto Google Classroom using each scholar's assigned, unique log-in credentials. If you have not been able to log on, please reach out to your scholar's teachers and the Operations Team. For information regarding attendance during this time, please click here.
  • The NYC Dept. of Education (DOE) continues to provide Grab and Go Meals across 439 sites to all NYC children. Three meals a day per child will be available from 7:30am to 1:30pm. No registration, ID, or documentation is required. You may find a meal location here.
  • Regional Enrichment Centers (RECs) are available to care for the children of our first responders, health care providers, transit workers, and other key personnel, while they continue to serve the city in this time of need. These RECs are staffed by DOE employees and community-based organization partners and provide three hot meals daily, remote learning time with their teachers, activities like art and music, and social and emotional support. Eligible parents can complete the survey here.
  • We are looking to finalize our enrollment projections for school year 2020-2021. Please take a few minutes to let us know if your scholar will be returning to your Ascend school by our new deadline of 4/14. Forms are available in English, Spanish, and Haitian Creole.
As we transition to remote learning, it will be important for you to reach out to your scholar's teachers to stay aware of assignments, including homework.
We will continue to post any packets here as needed.
** IXL is a supplemental, web-based resource for teachers and scholars to extend the learning. It is aligned to grade-level standards and adjusts to the student's progress and areas for improvement. Since the start of remote learning, IXL has upgraded our subscription from language arts and math to include Science and Social Studies until 6/30 and Spanish until 4/23.
Each scholar is already set up with an account on IXL.com. If you require assistance with your scholar's log-in credentials, please reach out to the Operations Team.

E-Mail your child's homeroom teacher. 

Click on the teacher's name to send an e-mail. 

Most Ascend e-mail addresses are the staff member's first name and last name at ascendlearning.org [for example anastasia.michals@ascendlearning.org].

Click on the teacher's name to send an e-mail. 

Most Ascend e-mail addresses are the staff member's first name and last name at ascendlearning.org [for example anastasia.michals@ascendlearning.org].

Click on the teacher's name to send an e-mail. 

Most Ascend e-mail addresses are the staff member's first name and last name at ascendlearning.org [for example anastasia.michals@ascendlearning.org].

Academic resources

Family handbook

Ascend Lower School Family Handbook 2019-2020

Additional resources

New York State Common Core aligned curriculum resources and information for parents and families.

Free, online educational resource, including over 100,000 practice problems, and over 6,000 micro  lectures via video tutorials stored on YouTube teaching mathematics, history, physics, chemistry, biology, American civics, art history, economics, and computer science.

Plan for college!

Saving for college now can give your child a head start on the path to future success. Consider starting a 529 plan.

Tutoring programs


List of tutoring programs available in our community. (The list is provided for informational purposes only; Ascend does not endorse any organizations.)

General resources

Apply for an idNYC card! It can be used as a library card, to open a bank account, to enter all ciity buildings, such as schools, and to access city services. The ID card comes with additional benefits including free membership to 40 cultural institutions and discounts on movie tickets, sporting events, health and fitness clubs and much more.

Visit the Brooklyn Public Library site for children with book recommendations, events, and more.

Additional Staff Contacts

 

Main Office - Operations

 

Director of Operations

Mrs. Ann Desir

ann.jankie@ascendlearning.org

Operations Manager

Ms. Tenille Faria

tenille.faria@ascendlearning.org

Academic Operations Associate

Mr. Toby Wu

xinghua.wu@ascendlearning.org

Operations Associate

Ms. Ilana Morris

ilana.morris@ascendlearning.org

School Nurse

Ms. Janet Lang

janet.lang@ascendlearning.org

Security Guard

Mr. Shaquille Staine

shaquille.staine@ascendlearning.org

Student Services Team

 

Student Services Coordinator

Ms. Christine Jacob

christine.jacob@ascendlearning.org

 

Social Worker

Ms. Allison McKenna

allison.mckenna@ascendlearning.org

 

School Counselor

Ms. Amanda Michel

amanda.bazilemichel@ascendlearning.org

 

School Counselor

Ms. Maya McKenzie

maya.mckenzie@ascendlearning.org

Intervention Teacher

Ms. Marchelle Melchiot

marchelle.melchiot@ascendlearning.org

Intervention Teacher

Ms. Gabrielle Fontane

gabrielle.fontane@ascendlearning.org

Click on the teacher's name to send an e-mail. 

Most Ascend e-mail addresses are the staff member's first name and last name at ascendlearning.org [for example anastasia.michals@ascendlearning.org].

Click on the teacher's name to send an e-mail. 

Most Ascend e-mail addresses are the staff member's first name and last name at ascendlearning.org [for example anastasia.michals@ascendlearning.org].

Dance - Ms. Alexandria Meyers - alexandria.meyers@ascendlearning.org

Capoeira - Mr. Allisson Silveira - allisson.silveira@ascendlearning.org

Capoeira - Mr. Paulo DaSilva - paulo.dasilva@ascendlearning.org

Music - Ms. Lauren McGinley - lauren.mcginley@ascendlearning.org

Spanish [K-1] - Ms. Maria Rodriguez - maria.rodriguez@ascendlearning.org

Spanish [2-4] - Ms. Wuendy Alvarez - wuendy.alvarez@ascendlearning.org

Chess [3-4] - Mr. Durand Jones - durand.jones@ascendlearning.org

Art - Ms. Yaritza Rigby - yaritza.rigby@ascendlearning.org

Maxine Knight - Kindergarten & Grade 1 - maxine.knight@ascendlearning.org

MaryEllen Musacchia - Grade 1 & Grade 2 - maryellen.musacchia@ascendlearning.org

Sandra Park - Grade 3 - sandra.park@ascendlearning.org

Ebonie Penado - Grade 4 - ebonie.penado@ascendlearning.org

  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle